Treasury Committee Press Notice No. 31

Session 2003-04 - 8 June 2004

Treasury Committee press notice no. 31


The Treasury Committee today reported to the House the responses from
(a) the Treasury  PDF Document and
(b) the Financial Services Authority  PDF Document
to its Fifth Report, Session 2003-04, HC 394 on Restoring confidence in long-term savings: Endowment mortgages. These will be published shortly as a Special Report from the Committee (details to be announced in due course).

In the meantime, the response from the Treasury having been referred to at this morning's oral evidence session with Mr Walter Merricks, the Chief Ombudsman at the Financial Ombudsman Service, the two responses are being placed in the public domain with this Press Notice and are attached above.

The Treasury Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons, appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, the Inland Revenue, Customs and Excise and associated public bodies.

Mr John McFall (Chairman), L, Dumbarton
Mr Nigel Beard, L, Bexleyheath and Crayford
Mr Jim Cousins, L, Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Angela Eagle, L, Wallasey
Mr Michael Fallon, C, Sevenoaks, (Sub-committee Chairman)
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, C, Wells
Norman Lamb, Lib Dem, North Norfolk
John Mann, L, Bassetlaw
Mr George Mudie, L, Leeds East
Mr James Plaskitt, L, Warwick and Leamington
Mr Robert Walter, C, North Dorset