Treasury Committee press notice no. 21

Press notice no. 21, 7 February 2006

Third Report: The Monetary Policy Committee of The Bank of England: Appointment Hearing for Sir John Gieve

The Treasury Committee publishes its Third Report of Session 2005-06 on The Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England: appointment hearing for Sir John Gieve at 1.00 pm on Tuesday 14 February as House of Commons Paper No. 861.

Copies of this Report will be available to witnesses and accredited members of the press on the day of publication, from the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA and from the Press Gallery, House of Commons at 1.00 pm.

The Report can be purchased from the Stationery Office Bookshops (tel: 0870 600 5522). The full text will also be available on the Internet ( at or before 3.30 pm on the day of publication.

The Treasury Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons, appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies. All Members of the Committee are Members of the Sub-Committee.

Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), L, West Dunbartonshire
Lorely Burt, Lib Dem, Solihull
Mr Jim Cousins, L, Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Angela Eagle, L, Wallasey
Mr Michael Fallon, C, Sevenoaks, (Chairman , Sub-Committee)
Ms Sally Keeble, L, Northampton North
Susan Kramer, Lib Dem, Richmond Park
Mr Andrew Love, L, Edmonton
Kerry McCarthy, L, Bristol East
Mr George Mudie, L, Leeds East
Mr Brooks Newmark, C, Braintree
Mr David Ruffley, C, Bury St Edmunds
Mr Mark Todd, L, South Derbyshire
Peter Viggers, C, Gosport