Treasury Committee press notice no. 47

Session 2005-06, 6 June 2006

Independence for Statistics: additional witness

The Treasury Sub-Committee will take evidence from Lord Moser in connection with its Independence for Statistics inquiry on Wednesday 14 June. Witnesses and revised timings are as follows:

Wednesday 14 June 2006:

At 2.30 pm: Lord Moser

At 3.00 pm: John Healey MP, Financial Secretary and Simon Brooks, Director of Macroeconomics, HM Treasury

This meeting will be the final evidence session for the inquiry. The session will be held at the House of Commons. Those wishing to attend the meetings should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


1. The Committee announced its inquiry into Independence for Statistics on 27 April 2006. Details of the oral evidence programme can be found on the Committee's website.

2. Sub-Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Michael Fallon (Chairman), Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr David Gauke, Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Kerry McCarthy, Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman, Main Committee), Mr George Mudie, Mr Brooks Newmark, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.

3. Press Notice No. 47

Further information:

Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson, Tel 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488 549, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5769, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on