The content on this page relates to the work of the Committee until the Dissolution of Parliament on 12 April 2010.
  • The Transport Select Committee has a new-look homepage which will provide the latest information about the work and membership of the Committee once it has been established in the new Parliament. 
  • Transport Select Committee from May 2010

Transport Committee: Related Links

Department for Transport
The Department for Transport provides leadership across the transport sector to achieve its objectives, working with regional, local and private sector partners to deliver many of the services.

Executive Agencies

Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA)
Our primary aims are to facilitate road safety and general law enforcement by maintaining registers of drivers and vehicles, and to collect vehicle excise duty (car tax).
Driving Standards Agency (DSA)
DSA€™s vision is €œSafe Driving for Life€. The overall mission is to contribute to the public service agreement objective to achieve 40% reduction in riders and drivers killed or seriously injured in road accidents, in the age group up to 24 years, by 2010 compared with the average for 1994-98.
Government Car and Despatch Agency
Government Cars and Government Mail are the government€™s own services for moving people and documents safely and reliably throughout the UK.
Highways Agency
The Highways Agency is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving the strategic road network in England on behalf of the Secretary of State for Transport.
Maritime and Coastguard Agency
This Agency is responsible throughout the UK for implementing the Government€™s maritime safety policy. That includes co-ordinating search and rescue at sea through Her Majesty€™s Coastguard, and checking that ships meet UK and international safety rules.
The Vehicle Certification Agency
VCA is the designated UK Vehicle Type Approval authority and with more than 30 years experience supports industry by providing internationally recognised testing and certification for vehicles, their systems and components.
Vehicle and Operator Services Agency
The Vehicle and Operator Services Agency (VOSA) provides a range of licensing, testing and enforcement services with the aim of improving the roadworthiness standards of vehicles ensuring the compliance of operators and drivers, and supporting the independent Traffic Commissioners.

Executive and Advisory Non-Departmental Bodies

Committee on Climate Change (CCC)
The Committee on Climate Change (CCC) is an independent body established under the Climate Change Act to advise the UK Government on setting carbon budgets, and to report to Parliament on the progress made in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.
BRB (Residuary) Ltd
Under the 1993 Railways Act, the old British Rail was split up and sold off. By November 1997, British Rail had been divested of all its operating railway functions. The remaining functions of the British Railways Board are now discharged by BRB (Residuary) Ltd. The company is owned by the Government and reports to the Department for Transport.
British Transport Police Authority (BTPA)
British Transport Police is the national police force for the railways providing a policing service to rail operators, their staff and passengers throughout England, Wales and Scotland.
Commission for Integrated Transport (CfIT)
The Commission for Integrated Transport (CfIT) is an independent body advising the Government on integrated transport policy.
Cycling England
Cycling England has been charged by the Government to deliver programmes that encourage more people to cycle more safely and more often.
Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee
We have been established by an Act of Parliament as an independent body to advise Government on the transport needs of all disabled people across the UK.
Office of Rail Regulation
On 1 April 2006, in addition to our role as economic regulator, ORR became the health and safety regulator for the rail industry when responsibility was transferred from the Health and Safety Executive (HSE). This transfer of responsibility was given effect in the Railways Act 2005. Follow the left-hand navigation for more about our key roles.
Passenger Focus (operating name for the rail passengers council)
We are an independent public body set up by the Government to protect the interests of Britain's rail passengers.
Railway Heritage Committee
The Railway Heritage Committee has the function of designating records and artefacts (or classes of record and artefact) which are historically significant and should be permanently preserved.
Traffic Commissioners
The eight Traffic Commissioners are appointed by the Secretary of State for the Transport and have responsibility in their area.
Trinity Lighthouse Service
The safety of shipping, and the well being of seafarers, have been our prime concerns since Trinity House was granted a Charter by Henry VIII in 1514.

Public Corporations

Civil Aviation Authority (CAA)
The Civil Aviation Authority is the UK's specialist aviation regulator. Through its skills and expertise it is recognised as a world leader in its field.
Northern Lighthouse Board (NLB)
The Northern Lighthouse Board's principal concern is with safety: the safety of the mariner at sea; the safety of our own people employed in or around some of the world's most dangerous coastlines; and the safety of environment in which we, and those who come after us, must live and work.

Other links

National Audit Office (NAO)
The NAO assists the Transport Committee with some of its projects.
Cabinet Office
The main purpose of the Cabinet Office is to make government work better.