Transport Committee: Press Notice

Session 2008-09, 23 April 2009

Pre-appointment Hearing

Pre-appointment Hearing

ORR: Pre-appointment Hearing

Pre-appointment Hearing with Anna Walker, Chair Designate of the Office of Rail Regulation

The Transport Committee will be holding a pre-appointment hearing with Anna Walker, the Government's preferred candidate for Chair of the Office of Rail Regulation on Wednesday 29 April at 2.45 pm in Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster.

The evidence session will be a pre-appointment hearing for the Committee to examine the professional competence and personal independence of the Government's preferred candidate, Anna Walker. This is in line with the Government's recommendations made in July 2007 in the Green Paper on The Governance of Britain proposing the scrutiny of certain public appointments by select committees. The Committee may also be expected to question Mrs Walker on her plans for the future direction of the Office of Rail Regulation.

The evidence session will be held in public. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.

2.45 pm

  • Anna Walker, Government's preferred candidate for the Chair of the Office of Rail Regulation

These timings are approximate and the sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Chairman) (Liverpool Riverside), Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin), Ms Angela C Smith (Sheffield, Hillsborough), Sir Peter Soulsby (Leicester South), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne), Sammy Wilson (East Antrim).

2. Transcripts of evidence sessions for the Committee's inquiries can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries:

Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430, 07917 488162, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on