Transport Committee: Press Notice

Session 2008-09, 27 February 2009

Evidence Sessions

Evidence Sessions

Evidence sessions

The effects of adverse weather conditions on transport in the United Kingdom

The House of Commons Transport Committee has today announced that it will hold public evidence sessions on The effects of adverse weather conditions on transport in the United Kingdom. The Committee will hear from local authority representatives and technical advisers before questioning the minister.

Transport Committee chair Louise Ellman said: "The Committee has decided to hold an inquiry because we were concerned by the level of disruption to transport across the country caused by the recent snow. We will consider why the snow had such a serious impact and what can be done to prevent such a high level of disruption in future. In addition to the witnesses announced we intend to hold a further evidence session looking at the particular difficulties experienced in the capital and we have asked the Mayor of London to find time in his schedule to attend."

The session will take place on Wednesday 11 March 2009. The following will give evidence:

2.45 pm

Local Government Association

  • Witnesses (TBC)

County Surveyors Society

  • Witnesses (TBC)

TAG Transportation Committee

  • Witnesses (TBC)

3.45 pm

Department for Transport

  • Paul Clark MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport

Highways Agency

  • Witnesses (TBC)

These timings are approximate and the sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised.


  1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Chairman) (Liverpool Riverside), Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin), Ms Angela C Smith (Sheffield, Hillsborough), Sir Peter Soulsby (Leicester South), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne), Sammy Wilson (East Antrim).
  2. Transcripts of evidence sessions for the Committee's inquiries can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on