Transport Committee Formal Minutes


Wednesday 29 March 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair, Mr Clive Efford, Mrs Louise Ellman, Mr Robert Goodwill, Mr John Leech, Mr Lee Scott, Mr Graham Stringer

Resolved, That the Committee do visit Israel (date to be confirmed), in connection with its inquiry into Transport Security.€”(The Chairman.)

Piracy on the High Seas:

Captain Pottengal Murkundan, Director, International Maritime Bureau, Mr Andrew Linington, Head of Campaigns and Communications, NUMAST, Captain Keith Hart, Senior Warden, Honourable Company of Master Mariners, and Mr Gavin Simmons, International Policy, defence and Security, Chamber of Shipping, gave oral evidence.

Dr Stephen Ladyman MP, Minister of State, Mr John Grubb, Deputy Director for Maritime and Land Transport Security, Department for Transport, Mr Ian Pearson MP, Minister of State, for Trade, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, and Mr David Roberts, Head of Global Business Group, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 19 April at half-past Two o'clock.