Transport Committee


Wednesday 28 February 2007

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mr John Leech

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Eric Martlew

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr Lee Scott

Novice Drivers

Ms Jools Townsend, Head of Education, Brake; Ms Brenda Puech, Campaigns and Communications Co-ordinator, RoadPeace; and Mrs Jan Berry, Chairman, Police Federation of England and Wales, gave oral evidence.

Mr Nick Starling, Director of General Insurance, and Mr Justin Jacobs, Assistant Director, Liability and Motor Insurance, Association of British Insurers; and Mr Dominic Clayden, Director of Technical Claims, Norwich Union, gave oral evidence.

Mr Paul Silverwood, President, Under 17 Car Club; Mr Neil Greig, Assistant Director, and Mr Andrew Howard, IAM Motoring Trust; and Mr Edmund King, Executive Director, RAC Foundation for Motoring, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 7 March at half past Two o'clock.