Formal Minutes


Wednesday 23 November 2005

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair,Mr David Clelland, Clive Efford, Mrs Louise Ellman, Mr Robert Goodwill, Mr John Leech, Mr Eric Martlew, Mr Lee Scott

Draft Report (UK Transport Security - preliminary report)

( The Minutes of Proceedings relating to the consideration of the Report are published in the First Report from the Committee, HC 637 (2005-06)  p. 18).

Resolved, That the Committee do visit the London Parking and Traffic Appeals Service on 6 December  2005, in connection with its inquiry into Parking Policy.-( The Chairman.)

Ordered, That Dr Peter Morrell and Mr Peter Vass be appointed as Specialist Advisers, to assist the Committee in its inquiry into The Work of the Civil Aviation Authority subject to interview by the Chairman and Clerk.-( The Chairman.)

Train Fares and Ticketing:

Mr Bob Crow, General Secretary, and Mr Ray Night, RMT Council of Executives Member, National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers, Mr Stephen Joseph OBE, Executive Director, and Mr David Woracker, Operational Research Analyst, Transport 2000, gave oral evidence.

Mr Brian Cooke, Chairman, and Mr John Cartledge, Deputy Chief Executive, London TravelWatch, Mr Colin Foxall, Chairman, and Mr Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, Rail Passengers' Council, Mr Alan Meredith, Chairman, and Mr Stephen Abbott, Secretary, East Midlands Passenger Transport Users Forum, gave oral evidence.

Mr Chris Bolt, Chairman, and Mr Michael Beswick, Director of Rail Policy, Office of Rail Regulation, Mr Iain Coucher, Deputy Chief Executive, and Mr Robin Gisby, Director of Operations and Customer Service, Network Rail, gave oral evidence.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 30 November at half-past Two o'clock.