Transport Committee Formal Minutes 06-07


Wednesday 23 May 2007

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mr Lee Scott

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Graham Stringer

Mr John Leech


1. Draft Local Transport Bill

The Committee considered this matter.

Resolved, That the Committee visit Sweden in July in connection with the inquiry; and that the Chairman seek the approval of the Liaison Committee for funding for the visit.

2.  Transport Innovation Fund

The Committee considered this matter.

Dermot Finch (Director), Centre for Cities, David Frost (Director General), The British Chambers of Commerce, and Stephen Joseph (Director), Transport 2000; Sir Richard Leese (Deputy Chair), Association of Greater Manchester Authorities, David Leather (Interim Chief Executive), Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Executive, Graham Hughes (Director of Sustainable Infrastructure), Cambridgeshire County Council, David Bull (Head of Transportation Strategy, Birmingham City Council) and Geoff Inskip (Chief Executive, Centro-WMPTA), West Midlands Passenger Transport Authority; Dr Stephen Ladyman (Minister of State for Transport), and Lucy Chadwick (Director of Regional and Local Transport Delivery), Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 6 June.