Transport Committee


Wednesday 22 November 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Clive Efford

Mr Eric Martlew

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Graham Stringer

Mr John Leech

Mr David Wilshire

The Ports Industry in England and Wales

Mr Patrick Walters, Deputy Regional Director, Europe and North Africa, DP World, Mr Michael Everard, Chairman, Ports and Pilotage Committee, and Mr Mark Brownrigg, Director General, Chamber of Shipping, Mr David Cross, Commercial Director, CMA CGM, and Ms Chrys Rampley, Infrastructure Manager, Road Haulage Association, gave oral evidence.

Mr Mike Garratt, Managing Director, MDS Transmodal, gave oral evidence.

Dr Stephen Ladyman MP, Minister for Transport, and Mr Phil Carey, Head of Ports Division, Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 29 November at a half past Two o'clock.