Transport Committee


Monday 20 November 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr David Clelland

Mr John Leech

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Lee Scott

Bus services across the UK (publication of additional Memorandum)

A Memorandum from the Go Ahead Group (BUS 96) was ordered to be reported to the House for publication on the Internet.

The Ports Industry in England and Wales

Mr Bob Crow, General Secretary, and Mr Tony Donaghy, President, Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers' Union, Mr Simon Bird, Chief Executive, and Mr Niels Westberg, Haven Master, The Bristol Port Company, and Mr David Robinson, Chief Executive, PD Ports, gave oral evidence.

The Lord Berkeley, OBE, a Member of the House of Lords, Chairman, Rail Freight Group, Mr John Dodwell, Managing Director, Rolandon, Mr Mike Gibbons, Executive Member, Dock and Waterways, Mr Roger Sealy, Transport Researcher, and Mr Richard Crease, Coastal, Maritime and Towage, Transport and General Workers' Union, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 22 November at a half past Two o'clock.