Wednesday 19 July 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair, Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson, Clive Efford, Mrs Louise Ellman, Mr Robert Goodwill, Mr John Leech, Mr Eric Martlew, Mr Lee Scott, Mr Graham Stringer, Mr David Wilshire

Draft Report (The work of the Department for Transport's Agencies - Driver and Vehicle Operator Group and the Highways Agency)

(The Minutes of Proceedings relating to the consideration of the Report are published in the Ninth Report from the Committee, HC 907 (2005-06) p.51).

Passenger Rail Franchising: Mr Ian Yeowart, Managing Director, Grand Central Trains, and Mr Mike Jones, Director, Renaissance Trains, gave oral evidence.

Mr Bill Emery, Chief Executive, Mr Michael Beswick, Director of Rail Policy, and Mr Brian Kogan, Deputy Director, Rail Markets, Passengers and Freight, Office of Rail Regulation, and Mr Martin Stanley, Chief Executive, Mr John Banfield, Inquiry Director, and Ms Catherine Abbott, Policy Coordinator, Competition Commission, gave oral evidence.

Mr Derek Twigg MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Mr Mark Lambirth, Director of Rail Strategy and Finance Directorate, and Mr Roger Jones, Divisional Manager of Rail Franchise Specification, Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 11 October at a half past Two o'clock.