Transport Committee


Wednesday 1 November 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair, Mr David Clelland, Clive Efford, Mrs Louise Ellman, Mr Robert Goodwill, Mr John Leech, Mr Eric Martlew, Mr Lee Scott, Mr Graham Stringer, Mr David Wilshire

Ordered, That the Committee do publish the following memoranda on its website in relation to its inquiry into Bus Services across the UK:

Dr Roger Sexton of Nottingham Trent University, Mr Paul Fawcett, Dr Alan Storkey, Mr Brian Bigwood, The Ten Percent Club, Ms Rosamund Weatherall, Mr Ray Bentley, Mr Peter R Makinson, Dr John Disney of Nottingham Trent University, Mr Brian Blackmore, Mr Martin Thorne, Mr Ray Wilkes, Bakers Coaches, Mr Peter J Thompson, Mr Reg Harman, Friends of Capital Transport Campaign, Transport Activists' Roundtable North West, Mr Clive Whatling, BRT-UK, Ms Sue Dawson, Mr Peter Headicar of Oxford Brookes University .€”(The Chairman.)

The Ports Industry in England and Wales: Mr John Garner, Fleet & Ports Director, P & O Ferries, Mr S¸ren Friis, General Manager, Operations and Planning UK and Ireland, Maersk Company Ltd, Mr Des Crampton, Chairman, Ports Skills & Safety Ltd, and Mr Allan Graveson, Senior National Secretary, Nautilus UK, gave oral evidence.

Dr Mark Avery, Director of Conservation, and Mr Andrew Dodd, Head of Site Conservation Policy, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, and Mr Detlev Golletz, Assistant Director, Infrastructure, South East of England Development Agency, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 8 November at a half past Two o'clock.