Transport Committee Formal Minutes 07-08


Wednesday 28 November 2007

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mr Eric Martlew

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Lee Scott

Mr Philip Hollobone

David Simpson

Mr John Leech

Mr David Wilshire

1.    Petitions

The Committee considered this matter.

The Committee considered the petition to the House from residents of Northampton and people who use the local rail services concerning Rail Services (Northampton).

2.    Future programme

The Committee considered this matter.

3.    The Future of BAA

Paul Ellis (General Manager, Infrastructure Policy and Economic Regulation), British Airways; Toby Nicol (Communications Director), easyJet; Don Langford (Managing Director, Services - Europe & India) and Jeff Ogar (Attorney - Competition Law / Regulatory), American Airlines, gave oral evidence.

Stephen Nelson (Chief Executive), Sir Nigel Rudd (Chairman), and Kyran Hanks (Director of Regulation), BAA Ltd, gave oral evidence.

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State), and Jonathan Moor (Director of Airport Strategy), Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 5 December.