Transport Committee Formal Minutes 07-08


Wednesday 9 January 2008

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr David Clelland

Mr Eric Martlew

Mr Clive Efford

David Simpson

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Lee Scott

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr Graham Stringer

1. Public petitions

The Committee considered this matter.

The Committee considered the following petitions to the House:

a. People of Boston and the Boston Bypass Pressure Group concerning the roads strategy for Boston, Lincolnshire; and

b. Mr Christopher Groome of Kettering Rail Users and others concerning rail passenger services to and from Kettering Station.

The Committee considered the Government’s observations on the petition from residents of Northampton and people who use the local rail services relating to Rail Services (Northampton).

Resolved, That the Chairman write to the Liaison Committee.

2. Committee travel

Resolved, That the Committee visit Heathrow Terminal 5.

3. Delivering a Sustainable Railway: A 30-Year Strategy for the Railways

Jim Steer (Director) and Julie Mills (Director), Greengauge 21; Roger Ford (Industry & Technology Editor, Modern Railways); Paul Martin (Director General), The Railway Forum, gave oral evidence.

Cliff Perry (Vice Chairman, Railway Division), Institution of Mechanical Engineers; Martin Brennan (Chair, Strategic Rail Forum), and Mary Bonar (Member,  Strategic Rail Forum), Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport; Dr Ian Harrison (Deputy Director, Environment, Economy and Culture, Devon County Council) and Mr Colin McKenna (Head of Highways and Transport, West Sussex County Council), County Surveyors Society gave oral evidence.

George Muir (Director General) Association of Train Operating Companies; Richard Brown CBE (Chief Executive Officer) and Louisa Bell (Head of Environment and Energy), Eurostar UK; Tony Collins (Chief Executive and Chris Gibb (Chief operating officer), Virgin Trains, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 16 January.