Transport Committee Formal Minutes 07-08


Wednesday 5 December 2007

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mr Eric Martlew

Mrs Louise Ellman

David Simpson

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr David Wilshire

1.    Winter Supplementary Estimate

The Committee considered this matter.

Resolved, That the Chairman write to the Secretary of State.

2.    Future programme

The Committee considered this matter.

3.    The Future of BAA

Roy Wicks (Chair of pteg and Director General of South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive) and Neil Scales (Director General, Merseytravel and Chairman of ITSO), Passenger Transport Executive Group; David Cook (Chief Executive, Kettering Borough Council), Adrian Jones (Director of Environment and Regeneration, Nottingham City Council) and  Greg Yates (County Transport and Regeneration Officer, Cheshire County Council), Local Government Association, gave oral evidence.

Dr Shashi Verma (Director of Fares & Ticketing) and Steve Burton (Deputy Director of Transport Policing & Enforcement), Transport for London, gave oral evidence.

Gerry Doherty (General Secretary), Transport Salaried Staff Association; Fran Hill (Chair, UNISON Bus Sector) and Manuel Cortes (Assistant General Secretary), UNISON, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 12 December.