Transport Committee


Wednesday 7 March 2007

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr Lee Scott

Mr Graham Stringer

Mr David Wilshire

Publication of Fifth Special Report

Draft Special Report [Government Response to the Thirteenth Report of the Committee, Session 2005-06: The Work of the Civil Aviation Authority], proposed by the Chairman, brought up, read the first and second time, and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Fifth Special Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Special Report to the House.

Ordered, That the Government's response to the Committee's Thirteenth Report of Session 2005-06 be appended to the Report.€”(The Chairman.)

Transformational Government: Closure of DfT Websites- publication of Memorandum

A Memorandum from the Department of Transport (A 145) was ordered to be reported to the House; and to be published.

The New National Boatmasters' Licence

Ms Margaret Lockwood Croft and Mr Malcolm Williams, Marchioness Action Group, gave oral evidence.

Mr Mick Cash, Senior Assistant General Secretary, and Mr Paul Baker, National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers; Mr Richard Flynn, Port of London Pilot, and Mr Dave Williamson, Liverpool Pilot, UK Maritime Pilots' Association; Mr Roger Sealey, Transport Researcher, and Mr Richard Crease, Costal, Maritime and Towage, Transport and General Workers' Union, gave oral evidence.

Mr David Snelson CB, Chief Harbour Master, and Mr Julian Parkes, Navigation Safety Management, Port of London Authority, gave oral evidence.

Dr Stephen Ladyman MP, Minster of State for Transport, Ms Theresa Crossley, Head of Shipping Policy Division, Department for Transport; and Mr John Astbury, Chief Executive, Maritime and Coastguard Agency, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 13 March at half past Three o'clock.