Wednesday 26 November 2008

Members present:

Mrs Louise Ellman, in the Chair

Mr David Clelland

Mr John Leech

Mr David Wilshire

1. Public petition

The Committee considered a petition to the House from Christopher Rankin and residents of New Park Road Benfleet, access arrangements for Appleton School.

2. Department for Transport Winter Supplementary Estimate

The Committee considered this matter.

3. Ending the Scandal of Complacency: Road Safety beyond 2010

The Committee considered this matter.

4. School travel

Cllr Les Lawrence, (Head of Transport and Regeneration Board), Local Government Association; and Ian Gwenlan, (Principal School Transport Officer), Association of Transport Coordinating Officers, gave oral evidence.

Paul Clark MP, (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State), and Jessica Matthew, (Deputy Director, Cycling and Sustainable Travel), Department for Transport; Sarah McCarthy-Fry MP, (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State), and Hilary Spencer, (Deputy Director, 14-19 Policy and Local Delivery Division), Department for Children, Schools and Families, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 10 December.