Wednesday 25 June 2008

Members present:

Mrs Louise Ellman, in the Chair

Mr David Clelland

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr John Leech Mr Eric Martlew

David Simpson

1. Public Petitions

The Committee considered petitions to the House from:

1. Chilham Parish Council relating to train services at Chilham Station; and

2. residents of the Borough of Wellingborough and surrounding areas relating to Wellingborough Driving Test Centre;

2. Draft Marine Navigation Bill

The Committee considered this matter.

Jeremy de Halpert (Executive Chairman) and Duncan Glass (Director of Navigational Requirements), Trinity House; Douglas Gorman, Director of Finance, Northern Lighthouse Board; and Martin Dyas (Head of Corporate Services), Commissioners of Irish Lights, gave oral evidence.

Joe Wilson (Chairman), UK Maritime Pilots Association; Allan Graveson (Senior National Secretary), Nautilus UK; and Captain Kevin Richardson (President), UK Harbour Masters' Association, gave oral evidence.

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State), Richard Bennett (Head of Ports Division), Cameron Clark (Marine Navigation Bill Manager), and David Bolomini (Head of Maritime Liability, Compensation & Law), Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 2 July.