Wednesday 21 May 2008

Members present:

Mr David Clelland

Clive Efford

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Philip Hollobone Mr John Leech

Mr Eric Martlew

David Simpson

Members declared their interests, in accordance with the Resolution of the House of 13 July 1992.

Mrs Louise Ellman was called to the Chair.

1. Draft Marine Navigation Bill

The Committee considered this matter.

2. Future Programme

The Committee considered this matter.

3. Public petitions

The Committee considered this matter.

The Committee considered the petition to the House from Wendy Daines, residents of Castle Point and others relating to Benfleet rail station facilities.

The Committee considered the Government's observations on the petition from customers and residents of West Moors in the Christchurch Constituency relating to local bus services (Dorset).

4. Road Safety

The Committee considered this matter.

Adrian Voce (Director), Play England; David Sinclair (Head of Policy), Help the Aged; Tony Armstrong (Chief Executive), Living Streets; and Roger Geffen (Campaigns & Policy Manager), CTC, gave oral evidence.

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State), and Mike Fawcett (Head of Road User Safety Division), Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 4 June.