Transport Committee Formal Minutes

United Kingdom Parliament
  What's on Committees Bills and Legislation Judicial Work
Committee Home Page
Reports and Publications
Press Notices
Related Links
Contact Details


Wednesday 20 February 2008

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Mr Clive Efford

Mr John Leech

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Eric Martlew

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr Graham Stringer

1. The Future of BAA

The Committee considered this matter.

2. Pre-appointment hearings

The Committee considered this matter.

Resolved, That the Chairman write to the Chairman of the Liaison Committee.

3. Delivering a Sustainable Railway: A 30-Year Strategy for the Railways

The Committee considered this matter.

Mr Anson Jack (Deputy Chief Executive) and Stephen McKay (Safety Policy Advisor), Rail Safety & standards Board, and Peter Rayner (Consultant and Expert on Railway Operations and Safety), gave oral evidence.

Gerry Doherty (General Secretary), Transport Salaried Staffs' Association; Bob Crow (General Secretary), and Alex Gordon (Executive Committee member) National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers gave oral evidence.

Colin Walton (Chairman & Chief Country Representative UK), Bombardier Transportation Group and Angel Trains, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.00pm on Wednesday 27 February.

Home | About | Members | Business | Publications | A-Z Index | Glossary | Contact Us | Help | Privacy Policy | © Copyright
Updated 28/02/2008 12:05