Wednesday 5 November 2008

Members present:

Mrs Louise Ellman, in the Chair

Mr David Clelland

Mr Philip Hollobone

Mr John Leech

Mr Eric Martlew Mark Pritchard

David Simpson

Mr Graham Stringer

1. Future Programme

The Committee considered this matter.

Resolved, That the Committee inquire into The future of aviation.

Resolved, That the Committee inquire into The strategic roads network.

2. Declaration of Interests - Professor Chris Nash, Specialist Adviser

Professor Chris Nash, Specialist Adviser for the inquiry into Taxes and charges on road users, declared his interests, in accordance with the decision of the Liaison Committee on 16 October 2008. Details of the declarations are published in a separate Annex.:

€ Research Professor at the Institute for Transport Studies, Leeds University;

€ Visiting Professor, Molde University College, Norway;

€ Guest Researcher, VTI Sweden.

€ An EPSRC funded project on understanding rail costs and the role of technology in reducing them;

€ A European Commission (DGTREN) project on road and rail infrastructure cost allocation;

€ Advising DfT on the valuation of sensitive lorry miles;

€ Advising the World Bank on rail investment in China;

€ Advising the Chinese Ministry of Railways on the social costs of transport.

€ Advising Network Rail on its study of New Lines, and

€ Advising the Community of European Railways on progress in implementing the 2001 White Paper and its impact.

€ Fellowship at the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and a member of its Strategic Rail and Road Capacity and Charging Forums.

3. Taxes and charges on road users

Professor Stephen Glaister CBE (Royal Automobile Club Foundation for Motoring), Dr Malcolm Fergusson (Institute for European Environmental Policy), and Andrew Leicester (Institute for Fiscal Studies), gave oral evidence.

Jim Coates (Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport), Professor Alan McKinnon (Heriot-Watt University), and Professor Jon Shaw,(University of Plymouth), gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 2.30pm on Wednesday 12 November.