Transport Committee


Wednesday 6 December 2006

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair

Clive Efford

Mr Lee Scott

Mrs Louise Ellman

Mr Graham Stringer

Mr Eric Martlew

Passenger Rail franchising

The Committee considered this matter.

The Ports Industry in England and Wales

Mr Richard Everitt, Chairman, UK Major Ports Group, and Chief Executive, Port of London Authority and Mr John Dempster, Executive Director, UK Major Ports Group and Mr Ken Bell, Business Development Manager, Associated British Ports and Mr Ted Sangster, Chairman, British Ports Association, and Chief Executive, Port of Milford Haven and Mr David Whitehead, Director, British Ports Association gave oral evidence.

Transport Security: Travelling Without Fear

Rt Hon Douglas Alexander, a Member of the House, Secretary of State for Transport, and Ms Niki Tompkinson, Director of Transport Security and Contingencies Directorate, Department for Transport gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 13 December at a half past Two o'clock.