Formal Minutes


Wednesday 2 November 2005

Members present:

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody, in the Chair, Mr David Clelland, Mr Jeffery M. Donaldson, Clive Efford, Mrs Louise Ellman, Mr Robert Goodwill, Mr John Leech, Mr Eric Martlew, Mr Lee Scott, Mr Graham Stringer, Mr David Wilshire

Draft Special Report [Government and the Civil Aviation Authority Responses to the Fifteenth Report of the Committee, Session 2003-04: Financial Protection for Air Travellers], proposed by the Chairman, brought up, read the first and second time, and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Seventh Special Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Special Report to the House.

Ordered, That the Government and Civil Aviation Authority responses to the Fifteenth Report from the Committee, Session 2003-04, be appended to the Report.-(The Chairman.)

Financial Protection for Air Travellers - follow up:

Ms Karen Buck MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, and Ms Sandra Webber, Head of Aviation, Civil Aviation Authority and Consumers Division, Department for Transport, Sir Roy McNulty, Chairman, and Mr Richard Jackson, Director of Consumer Protection, Civil Aviation Authority, gave oral evidence.

Transport Security:

Rt Hon. Alistair Darling MP, Secretary of State for Transport, Ms Niki Tompkinson, Director of Transport Security, and Mr John Grubb, Director of Maritime and Land Transport Security, Department for Transport, gave oral evidence.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 9 November at half-past Two o’clock.