On Wednesday 5 November at 2.45 pm in Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster, the Committee will hold its first evidence session on Taxes and charges on road users. The following will give evidence:

Time /Witnesses

2.45 pm Professor Stephen Glaister CBE, Royal Automobile Club Foundation for Motoring, Dr Malcolm Fergusson, Institute for European Environmental Policy, and Andrew Leicester, Institute for Fiscal Studies

3.45 pm Jim Coates, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, Professor Alan McKinnon, Heriot-Watt University, and Professor Jon Shaw, University of Plymouth

These timings are approximate and the sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Chairman) (Liverpool Riverside), Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Clive Efford (Eltham), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin), David Simpson (Upper Bann), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne).

2. Transcripts of evidence sessions for the Committee's inquiries can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on