'Select committee to inquire into taxes and charges on road users'

Call for written submissions

The House of Commons Transport Committee has today announced that it will be conducting an inquiry into taxes and charges on road users. The inquiry will address the following questions:

€ What taxes and charges are currently paid to government by road users, how much revenue do they raise and how does this compare with national and local government expenditure on the roads network and ancillary services?

€ What is the impact of the current charging regime on individuals, businesses and the economy?

€ Do the taxes and charges paid by motorists capture the external costs of congestion, local air and noise pollution, accidents, and CO2 emissions? Would it be desirable for them to do so and, if so, how could this be achieved?

€ Should the primary purpose of taxes and charges on motorists be to raise revenue to cover the costs of the road network, to reduce traffic and congestion, to minimise the negative social and environmental impact of transport, or some combination of these?

€ Does the current system have different impacts on different categories of road user? If so, is this fair?

€ What alternative methods of charging for road use are available, such as road pricing in town and city centres and on the national road network, lorry road-user charging schemes, switching charges between fixed charges (such as Vehicle Excise Duty) and variable charges (such as fuel duty)?

€ Should foreign-registered vehicles pay for access to the UK's roads and if so, how? How closely enforced are the rules governing re-registration of foreign-registered vehicles which are brought permanently the UK and the consequent liability for VED?

Interested parties are invited to submit evidence by Monday 29 September 2008.

Each submission should:

€ be no more than 3,000 words in length;

€ begin with a short summary in bullet point form;

€ have numbered paragraphs; and

€ be in Word format with as little use of colour or logos as possible.

A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to and marked "Road charges inquiry". An additional paper copy should be sent to:

Ronnie Jefferson

Transport Committee

Committee Office

House of Commons

7 Millbank

London SW1P 3JA

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals submitting written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Please supply a postal address so a copy of the Committee's report can be sent to you upon publication.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

€ Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a proposed memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

€ Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organisation submitting it is specifically authorised.

€ Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

€ Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Chairman) (Liverpool Riverside), Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Clive Efford (Eltham), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin), David Simpson (Upper Bann), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne).

2. Transcripts of evidence sessions for the Committee's inquiries can be found on the Committee website at:

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on