On Wednesday 14 May from 2.45 pm in Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster, the Committee will hold its third evidence session on Road Safety. The evidence will be heard in public and the following will give evidence:

2.45 pm Professor Phil Goodwin

Professor Phil Goodwin, Professor of Transport Policy, University of the West of England

Professor John Whitelegg

Professor John Whitelegg, Professor of Sustainable Development, University of York

Fred Wegman

Fred Wegman, Managing Director, SWOV (Netherlands Institute for Road Safety Research)

3.45 pm Automobile Association

Andrew Howard, Head of Road Safety

Motorcycle Action Group

Nicholas Brown, General Secretary

Association of British Drivers

Malcolm Heymer, Traffic Management Adviser

Road Haulage Association

Jack Semple, Director of Policy

Unite the Union (Transport & General)

Roger Sealey, Researcher - Transport

All timings are approximate and sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Clive Efford (Eltham), Mrs Louise Ellman (Liverpool Riverside), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Lee Scott (Ilford North), David Simpson (Upper Bann), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne).

2. Further information about the work of the Committee and its membership can be found at

Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6263 Fax 020 7219 0909 email

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

SCA 36/2007-08 12 May 2008