Transport Committee

Select Committee Announcement

Committee Office, House of Commons, Westminster House, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA



On Wednesday 23 April from 2.45 pm in the Palace of Westminster the Committee will hold its second evidence session on Road Safety. The following witnesses will give evidence:

2.45 pm Automobile Association

Andrew Howard, Head of Road Safety

Motorcycle Action Group

David Short, Campaigns Manager

Association of British Drivers

Malcolm Heymer, Traffic Management Adviser

Road Haulage Association

Roger King, Chief Executive

Unite - the Union (Transport & General Workers section)

Roger Sealey, Transport Researcher

3.45 pm Play England

Lisa Davis, Policy Officer

Help the Aged

David Sinclair, Head of Policy

Living Streets

Tony Armstrong, Chief Executive


Roger Geffen, Campaigns & Policy Manager

All timings are approximate and sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised. The evidence will be heard in public.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody (Chairman) (Crewe and Nantwich), Mr David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Clive Efford (Eltham), Mrs Louise Ellman (Liverpool Riverside), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Mr John Leech (Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Mr Lee Scott (Ilford North), David Simpson (Upper Bann), Mr Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Spelthorne).

2. Further information about the work of the Committee and its membership can be found at

Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6263 Fax 020 7219 0909 email

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

SCA 30/2007-08 3 April 2008