Trans07_08Press Notice46



On Wednesday 2 July from 2.45 pm in Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster, the Committee will hold its first evidence session on School Travel. The following will give evidence:

2.45 pm South Yorkshire Strategic Education Transport Group

David Brown, Chairman

Cheshire County Council

Janet Mills, Sustainable School Travel Team Manager

Steve Williams, Strategic Manager, Public and Mainstream School Transport

Merseyside Local Transport Plan Partnership

Sarah Dewar, TravelWise Co-ordinator

3.45 pm Passenger Transport Executive Group

Neil Scales, Chairman

Sheena Pickersgill, Director Corporate Services, Metro

Transport for London

Ben Plowden, Director, Smarter Travel Unit

John Barry, Head of Network Development, London Buses

All timings are approximate and sessions may start slightly earlier or later than advertised.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mrs Louise Ellman (Lab, Liverpool Riverside) (Chair), Mr David Clelland (Lab, Tyne Bridge), Clive Efford (Lab, Eltham), Mr Philip Hollobone (Con, Kettering), Mr John Leech (Lib Dem, Manchester Withington), Mr Eric Martlew (Lab, Carlisle), Mr Lee Scott (Con, Ilford North), David Simpson (DUP, Upper Bann), Mr Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester Blackley), Mr David Wilshire (Con, Spelthorne).

2. Further information about the work of the Committee can be found at

Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6263 Fax 020 7219 0909 email

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

SCA 46/2007-08 1 July 2008