Transport Committee



Terms of Reference and Call for Evidence

The House of Commons Transport Committee is to take evidence on the Transport Innovation Fund (TIF). The Fund was established following the publication of the 2004 White Paper, The Future of Transport, to tackle the twin objectives of reducing congestion and improving productivity. Proposals for TIF funding are divided into “congestion schemes”, for which bids are invited from local authorities, and “productivity schemes”, which are determined by the DfT after consultation with the RDAs.

Congestion TIF schemes are expected to consist of demand-management measures such as road-pricing, accompanied by complementary public transport improvements.

Productivity TIF schemes will be regional, inter-regional, inter-urban and, exceptionally, local packages which have the potential to produce productivity gains at the national level. Examples might include improved surface access at a port or airport, or improved inter-urban connections which create significant reduction in business costs.

The Fund is forecast to grow from £290 million in 2008-09 to £2.5 billion in 2014-15. Successful bids for two rounds of pump-priming funds for congestion schemes were announced by the Department in November 2005 and 2006.

The Committee is taking evidence on the operation of the TIF, with particular emphasis on congestion schemes. The Committee is keen to hear from those who have been involved in the TIF bidding process.

Interested parties are invited to submit written memoranda to the Committee no later than Tuesday 20 March 2007.

Guidance on submitting written evidence

It assists the Committee if those submitting written evidence adhere to the following guidelines:

1. Submissions should be as short as is consistent with conveying the relevant information. As a rough guide, it is usually helpful if they can be confined to six pages or less. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference. A single-page summary of the main points is sometimes helpful. The submission should be in a form suitable for monochrome photocopying.

2. Evidence should be submitted in Word or Rich Text format, by e-mail to the above address. The body of the e-mail should include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. It should be absolutely clear who the submission is from, particularly whether it is on behalf of an organisation or in the name of an individual.

3. Once accepted by the Committee, written evidence becomes the Committee’s property and it may decide to publish it or make other public use of it. You should not publish evidence submitted to the Committee. If you wish your submission, or any part of it, to be treated as confidential, then please indicate this clearly when you submit it.

4. Though the Committee is happy to receive copies of published material, formal submissions of evidence should be original work and not published elsewhere.

5. Committee staff are happy to give further advice on any aspect of the Committee’s work by phone or e-mail.

More detailed guidance on giving evidence to a select committee is available on-line at:

The Membership of the Transport Committee is as follows:

Member                 Constituency                     Party

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody (Chairman)Crewe and Nantwich Labour

Mr David Clelland              Tyne Bridge       Labour

Mr Jeffrey M Donaldson      Lagan Valley  Democratic Unionist

Clive Efford                        Eltham                   Labour

Mrs Louise Ellman            Liverpool Riverside Labour

Mr Philip Hollobone         Kettering             Conservative

Mr John Leech         Manchester Withington  Liberal Democrats

Mr Eric Martlew              Carlisle                    Labour

Mr Lee Scott                  Ilford North     Conservative

Mr Graham Stringer       Manchester Blackley         Labour

Mr David Wilshire            Spelthorne              Conservative

Press Notice 20/2006-07                              20 February 2007