Trans05-06 Press Notice64



Transport Committee visit to Heathrow Airport

Members of the House of Commons Transport Select Committee will be visiting Heathrow airport on Monday 16 October. The visit is part of the Committee's ongoing inquiry, Transport Security: Travelling Without Fear.

The MPs will be meeting key security personnel and viewing security arrangements at the airport. The Committee's inquiry seeks to throw light on the nature of the threat to our transport systems and what is being done by those responsible for the safety of the travelling public to counter that threat.

Notes for Editors:

1. Members of the Committee: Gwyneth Dunwoody (Chairman) (Crewe and Nantwich), David Clelland (Tyne Bridge), Jeffrey M Donaldson (Lagan Valley), Clive Efford (Eltham), Louise Ellman (Liverpool Riverside), Robert Goodwill (Scarborough and Whitby), John Leech (Manchester Withington), Eric Martlew (Carlisle), Lee Scott (Ilford North), Graham Stringer (Manchester Blackley), David Wilshire (Spelthorne).

2. A photograph of the Committee taken during their visit to Heathrow will be available. For more details please contact Select Committee Media Officer Laura Kibby 0207 219 0718.

Press Notice 64/2005-06, 13 October 2006