Trans04-05Press Notice11

Search and Rescue

Search and Rescue

The Transport Committee will be taking evidence for its inquiry into Search and Rescue on Wednesday 2 March.

In November 2004 the Transport Committee called for evidence on Search and Rescue in the United Kingdom.

The Department for Transport is responsible for civil aeronautical and maritime Search and Rescue policy.  The Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA) provides the co-ordination service for maritime Search and Rescue.  The Government response to the Committee's report on the MCA (Cmd 6343) emphasised the role of the Auxiliary Coastguard Service, whose volunteer members form the Coastguard's response teams.  Other bodies are also involved:  for example, the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI) provides lifeboat fleets and crews; and the Ministry of Defence exercises responsibility for civil aeronautical Search and Rescue on behalf of the Department for Transport.

Subject to confirmation, the witnesses will be as follows:

Wednesday 2 March 2005

at 2.30 pm Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI)

at 3.20 pm Public and Commercial Services Union  (PCS)

NUMAST (National Union of Marine, Aviation and Shipping Transport Officers)

at 4.00 pm Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA)

at 4.40 pm Department for Transport

                David Jamieson MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

Phil Hope MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Home Office

Fiona Mactaggart MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee. Because the meetings may be moved from the Palace of Westminster to Portcullis House, those wishing to attend the meetings should check the venue by contacting the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearings.

If you would prefer future press notices to be sent via email rather than post please email your address to

Press Notice   11/2004-05   24 February 2005

Eve Samson, Clerk of the Committee