South West Committee

Session 2008-09

29 October 2009

Transport inquiry to hear evidence in Taunton

11.40am - 1.20pm, Monday 2 November: Meeting Room, Taunton Public Library, Taunton

MPs on the South West Select Committee will be in Taunton on Monday 2 November to hear evidence from transport companies, local authorities and campaigners as part of the Committee’s ongoing inquiry into transport in the South West.

There will be two panels of witnesses at the hearing in Taunton. The first session at 11.40am will look at region’s transport network and how well it connects up with the rest of the UK. It will feature evidence from: the RAC Foundation, First Great Western Trains, National Express, SW Regional Ports Association, Exeter Airport, and Passenger Focus.

The second session will start at 12.30; examining transport in more rural and peripheral parts of the region. On the panel will be:  Campaign for the Protection of Rural England, Exmoor National Park Authority, Cornwall Council, Dorset County Council, Devon & Cornwall Business Council, and St Germans Rail Users Group


The Transport in the South West inquiry has received more written submissions of evidence than any other Regional Select Committee inquiry so far.

The membership of the South West Select Committee is as follows: Chair Alison Seabeck MP for Plymouth Devonport,  David Drew MP for Stroud,  Linda Gilroy MP for  Plymouth, Sutton,  Kerry McCarthy  MP for Bristol East, Dr Doug Naysmith MP for Bristol North West.

Regional Committees:
Committee Information:  David Slater, e:mail: Tel: 020 7219 3268
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on