Formal Minutes

Wednesday 17th May 2006

Members present:

Ms Dawn Butler, Ann Coffey, Mr George Howarth, Mr Greg Knight, Mark Lazarowicz, Mrs Theresa May, Mr Adrian Sanders, Mr Jack Straw, Graham Stringer, Paddy Tipping, Mr Edward Vaizey, Sir Nicholas Winterton

1. Chairmanship

Mr Jack Straw was called to the Chair.

2. Future programme

The Committee considered this matter.

3. Oral evidence

The Legislative Process: Dawn Oliver, Professor of Constitutional Law, University College London; Philip Cowley, Reader in Parliamentary Government, University of Nottingham; and Alexandra Kelso, ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Government, University of Strathclyde gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 24th May at half-past Nine o'clock.