Scottish Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Announcement 11 of Session 2008-09

Committee follows up response from RBS regarding evidence given on 19 March

The Chairman of the Scottish Affairs Committee, Mr Mohammad Sarwar, is writing again to Mr Pell, Deputy Group Chief Executive, Royal Bank of Scotland Group, to seek further information regarding evidence given to the Committee on 19 March regarding Banking in Scotland. The text of the letter is as follows:

Dear Mr Pell,

Thank you for your response to my letter dated 23 March 2009 regarding the evidence you gave to the Scottish Affairs Committee.

While I appreciate that there was no intent to mislead the Committee or provide it with inaccurate information, I would like to remind you that giving evidence to a House of Commons Select Committee should be taken very seriously; when factual information given to the Committee is immediately contradicted outside the Committee Room, it casts severe doubt on the reliability of the witness. At the end of our meeting with you, I asked you if you would like to make any concluding remarks; this would have been an appropriate opportunity for you to clarify your earlier evidence before the Committee if you felt that it could be misconstrued by the media.

The Committee remains unclear about the facts surrounding job losses and redundancies at RBS and so I would be grateful if you could tell us (a) how many net jobs will be lost across RBS in Scotland and (b) what number of compulsory and voluntary redundancies you expect.

I hope we can achieve clarity on the position of RBS and its job losses in Scotland without asking you to re-appear before the Committee.

Mr Mohammad Sarwar
Chairman of the Committee


1.   Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman),  Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Mr Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Lindsay Roy MP (Lab, Glenrothes), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne), Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre) and Pete Wishart MP (SNP, Perth and North Perthshire).

2. More information on Committee publications can be found at:

3. The Committee’s letter to RBS was published as part of Announcement 8 of Session 2008-09, 23 March. The response from RBS was published as part of Announcement 9 of Session 2008-09, 24 March.

Media Enquiries: Becky Jones t: +44 (0)20 7219 5693, e:

Specific Committee Information: 0207 219 6125

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on