Scottish Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Announcement 10 of Session 2008-09

Committee considers RBS reply

The Scottish Affairs Committee today met to consider the reply sent by RBS to its letter of 23 March, concerning evidence given by Mr Pell, Deputy Group Chief Executive, Royal Bank of Scotland Group, on 19 March. The Committee intends to pursue the matter further with Mr Pell and will issue a further request for clarification later in the week.


1.   Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman),  Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Mr Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Lindsay Roy MP (Lab, Glenrothes), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne), Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre) and Pete Wishart MP (SNP, Perth and North Perthshire).

2.    More information on Committee publications can be found at:

3. The Committee’s letter to RBS was published as part of Announcement 8 of Session 2008-09, 23 March. The response from RBS was published as part of Announcement 9 of Session 2008-09, 24 March.

Media Enquiries: Becky Jones t: +44 (0)20 7219 5693, e:

Specific Committee Information: 0207 219 6125

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on