Scottish Affairs Committee Press Notice

Announcement 27 of Session 2007-08

16 June 2008

Scottish Affairs Committee launches Employment and Skills for the Defence Industry in Scotland Report

The Scottish Affairs Committee will publish its Sixth Report of Session 2007-08 on Employment and Skills for the Defence Industry in Scotland (HC 305) on Monday 23 June 2008 at 10.00 am at Govan High School, Glasgow.

This event will be an opportunity to hear the Committee Chairman, Mr Mohammed Sarwar MP, give an overview of the inquiry. Other members of the Committee will also be present to give their views on issues raised in the report.

The Committee has heard a range of evidence from a variety of witnesses. Key areas such as the Future Carrier Programme, the sustainability of the defence industry, and the challenges that face the industry have been explored. We also heard evidence on the training provided for the defence industry in Scotland from a number of organisations including Govan High School.

The event will begin at 10.00 am, The School Hall, Govan High School, 12 Ardnish Street, Glasgow, G51 4NB. If you wish to attend please email or telephone 020 7219 6123 / 6125.

Embargoed copies of the report will be available at midday on Friday 20 June.

Witnesses, government departments and accredited members of the press who wish to pick up a copy of the report  from 7 Millbank should contact the Committee by email ( or call 020 7219 6123. Otherwise, witnesses' copies of the Report will be posted to them. The full text will be available on the Committee’s website on the day of publication.

For all media inquiries, please contact Becky Jones, Media Adviser, on 020 7219 5693.


1.   Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman), Mr Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Mr John MacDougall MP (Lab, Glenrothes), Mr Angus MacNeil MP (SNP, Na h-Eileanan An Iar), Mr Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne) and Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre)

2.    More information on Committee publications can be found at:

Media Enquiries: Becky Jones t: +44 (0)20 7219 5693, e:

Specific Committee Information:, 0207 219 6125

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on