Scottish Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Press notice No. 29

2 July 2009

The Scottish Affairs Committee has the pleasure of inviting you to its event Crisis in the Scottish Press Industry at the Rothes Halls, Glenrothes on Monday 13 July 2009.

This event will launch the Committee’s report which examines current pressures facing the local, regional and national press industry in Scotland.

The Chairman of the Committee, Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP, will give an overview of the inquiry and the report’s findings, and members of the audience will be invited to ask questions about the report.

The Committee held two evidence sessions for this inquiry and witnesses included trade unions, academics and newspaper publishing companies.

The event will begin at 10.30am and be held in room 11, Rothes Halls, Rothes Square, Glenrothes, Fife, KY7 5NX

Refreshments will be provided. If you are able to attend please email or telephone 020 7219 2173 / 6125.

We look forward to seeing you.

Directions to Rothes Halls can be found by following the link below


Embargoed copies of the report will be available on Friday 10 July at 10am.  Witnesses, government departments and accredited members of the press who wish to pick up a copy of the report  from 7 Millbank should contact the Committee by email ( or call 020 7219 6123. The full text will be available on the Committee’s website on the day of publication.

For all media inquiries, please contact Becky Jones on 020 7219 5693.


1.   Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman),  Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), Pete Wishart MP (SNP, Perth and North Perthshire), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne) and  Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre)

2.    More information on Committee publications can be found at:

Media Enquiries: Becky Jones t: +44 (0)20 7219 5693, e:

Specific Committee Information: 0207 219 6125

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on