Scottish Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Announcement 42 of Session 2008-09

5 November 2009

Banking in Scotland: Committee visit

The Scottish Affairs Committee will be visiting financial and other organisations in Dublin on Monday 9 and Tuesday 10 November as part of its inquiry into Banking in Scotland.

The purpose of the Committee’s visit is to examine the operation of banks and provision of banking services to the public in the current economic climate, in a neighbouring country which has also suffered from the failure of banks. In particular, it wishes to hear the lessons learned from the failure, and the steps Ireland is taking to restore stability in its banking sector and repair the reputational damage done since the start of since the global banking crisis last year.

The Committee’s itinerary includes visits to the Department of Finance, Anglo Irish Bank, the National Asset Management Agency, and the Central Bank and Financial Services Authority of Ireland. It is also likely to meet with representatives from the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and also members of the Oireachtas.



Members of the Committee will be available to speak to the press during the visit. Please contact Becky Jones for more information.

Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman),  Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Lindsay Roy (Glenrothes), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne), Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre) and Pete Wishart MP (SNP, Perth and North Perthshire).

More information on Committee publications can be found at:

Specific Committee Information: 0207 219 6125

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on