Scottish Affairs Committee

Session 2009-10

21 December 2009

Scotland and the UK: cooperation and communication between governments: Oral evidence session with the First Minister of Scotland

The Scottish Affairs Committee has decided to hold an evidence session  in relation to the Committee’s inquiry into Scotland and the UK: cooperation and communication between governments:

Tuesday 12 January 2010

10.30 am: Alex Salmond MP, First Minister of Scotland and Sir John Elvidge KCB, Permanent Secretary to the Scottish Executive
11.30 am: Kenny MacAskill MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Justice

Venue: House of Commons (exact location to be confirmed)


1.   Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Lab, Glasgow Central) (Chairman),  Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Ms Katy Clark MP (Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-operative, Glasgow South West), Mr Jim Devine MP (Lab, Livingston), Mr Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), David Mundell MP (Con, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale), Lindsay Roy MP (Lab, Glenrothes), Mr Charles Walker MP (Con, Broxbourne), Mr Ben Wallace MP (Con, Lancaster and Wyre) and Pete Wishart MP (SNP, Perth and North Perthshire).

2.    More information about the inquiry can be found at the inquiry pages:
Scotland and the UK: cooperation and communication between governments

Media Enquiries: Becky Jones t: +44 (0)20 7219 5693, e:
Specific Committee Information: 0207 219 6125
Committee Website:
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on