Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.31 of Session 2005-06 30 March 2006


A debate on the Committee’s Report

Thursday 20 April 2006



Note: Due to refurbishment work, this debate will be held in Committee Room 10

On Thursday 20 April there will be a debate in Committee Room 10 on Forensic Science. The debate is open to the public.

The debate will focus on the conclusions of the Committee’s recent Report and the Government’s response, and will also cover relevant recent developments.

The Report to be debated is:

• Seventh Report, Session 2004-05, Forensic Science on Trial, published on 29 March 2005 as HC 96-I

Also relevant is the subsequent Government response to the Committee’s Seventh Report:

• First Special Report, Session 2005-06, Forensic Science on Trial: Government Response to the Committee’s Seventh Report of Session 2004-05, published as HC 427 on 25 July 2005.

The Committee held a follow-up evidence session with Ministers on 23 November 2005.  Minutes of Evidence from this session are published as:

• Forensic Science on Trial: A Follow-up: Oral evidence from Rt Hon Lord Goldsmith QC, Attorney General; Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC, Minister of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs; and Andy Burnham MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Home Office, published as HC 685-i on 19 January 2006

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend the debate in Westminster Hall (Committee Room 10)

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance where they will be directed through security and to Committee Room 10. It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering Committee Room 10.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address Members during the debate.  Those attending the debate are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)