Science and Technology Committee Press Notice

No. 65 of Session 2006-07

29 October 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Twelfth Report of Session 2006-07, Scientific Developments Relating to the Abortion Act 1967 [HC 1045-I] in House at 00.01am on Wednesday 31 October 2007.

There will be no embargoed copies of the Report but electronic copies will be available from the time of publication upon request.

Requests should be emailed to by 4.00pm on Tuesday 30 October 2007.

Hard copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from Tuesday 6 November 2007.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ This inquiry was announced on 20 June 2007 in Press notice No 45 of session 2006-07

€ Evidence session were held on: Monday 15 October when evidence was heard from: British Association of Perinatal Medicine, Faculty of Family Planning and Reproductive Health Care and Professor Maria Fitzgerald, University College London; Professor Jane Norman, University of Glasgow, Dr Chris Richards, Newcastle University, Dr Sam Rowlands, Warwick Medical School, and Dr Ellie Lee, University of Kent; on Wednesday 17 October when evidence was heard from: Royal College of Nurses, British Medical Association, Marie Stopes and Dr Vincent Argent, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist; Family Planning Association, Alive and Kicking, Abortion Rights and the Society for the Protection of Unborn Children; and on Wednesday 24 October when evidence was heard from Rt Hon Dawn Primarolo MP, Minister of State for Public Health, Dr Fiona Adshead, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, and Paula Cohen, Assistant Director of Legal Services, Department of Health.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mrs Nadine Dorries Con (Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)