Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 50 of Session 2005-06 27 June 2006



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its twelfth and last evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 5 July when evidence will be heard from:

Department of Trade and Industry

Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP, Secretary of State for Trade and Industry;

Professor Sir David King KB, Government Chief Scientific Adviser and Head of the Office of Science and Innovation; and

Sir Brian Bender KCB, Permanent Secretary

The session will take place in Committee Room 8 at 1.30pm

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 9 November 2005 in Press Notice No 9 of session 2005-06.

• Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 15 February when evidence was heard from the Government Chief Scientific Adviser and the Chief Government Social Researcher; on 1 and 22 March when evidence was heard from ACMD and the Home Office; on 26 April when evidence was heard from Experts and Lobby Groups; on 3, 10, 11(Thursday), 17 and 24 May when evidence was heard from biometrics and IT experts from industry and academia; the Food Standards Agency; officials from the European Commission; the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, the Health Protection Agency, the Health and Safety Executive and academics; The Royal Society, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Campaign for Science and Engineering, Biosciences Federation and academics; 7, 14 June when evidence was heard from the Head of the Government Economic Service and the Chief Scientific Advisers to DfID, Home Office and DfT, and Home Office Ministers.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)