Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 55 of Session 2006-07 26 July 2007




Following the current machinery of Government Changes, the Science and Technology Committee will continue to work under its current remit until the end of this Parliamentary session (November 2007). It will therefore aim to complete the inquiry into scientific developments relating to the Abortion Act 1967 by the end of October.

As per the initial press notice announcing the inquiry, the deadline for written submissions remains Monday 3 September 2007 ( see press notice No 45 for further details)

Oral evidence sessions will commence in the Autumn and a press notice announcing these will be issued nearer the time.


The Committee has also announced an inquiry into Renewable Energy Generation Technologies

( see Press notice No 38 for further details)

It is unlikely that the Committee will be able to proceed with this inquiry in the time remaining to it, and it will be a matter for the new Committee on Innovation, Universities and Skills whether it will include this issue in its programme of work. The Committee is grateful to all those who have submitted written memoranda to this inquiry. These memoranda have been published on the Committee's website.

Notes to editors:

₠Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)