No.3 of Session 2004-05 25 November 2004


The Science and Technology Committee will publish its First Special Report of Session 2004-05, Research Assessment Exercise: a re-assessment: Government Response to the Committee's Eleventh Report of Session 2003-04 (HC 34) at 11.00am on Tuesday 30 November 2004.

Copies of the Report will be available for collection in reception at 7 Millbank from the time of publication.

Copies of the Report can also be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number. The text of the Reports will also be available via the Committee's internet homepage

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies@. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee published its Eleventh Report of Session 2003-04: Research Assessment Exercise: a re-assessment (HC 586) on Thursday 23 September 2004.

• The Committee held two evidence sessions, 19 May where evidence was heard from: Lord May of Oxford, President, the Royal Society, Professor Adrian Smith, Principal, Queen Mary University of London, and Professor Ivor Crewe, Vice-Chancellor, University of Essex, Universities UK, and Professor Sir Gareth Roberts, President, Wolfson College, Oxford; Sir Howard Newby, Chief Executive, and Mr Rama Thirunamachandran, Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer, Higher Education Funding Council for England, and 7 June where evidence was heard from: Ms Natalie Fenton, Loughborough University, Professor Ian Haines, London Metropolitan University, and Professor Richard Joyner, Nottingham Trent University, Dr Steve Wharton, University of Bath.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)