Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 54 of Session 2006-07 25 July 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Ninth Report of Session 2006-07, International Policies and Activities of the Research Councils [HC 472-I and II] at 10.00am on Tuesday 31 July 2007.

There will be no advanced copies of the report.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee's website: from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

₠Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the ₓexpenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodiesâ‚?. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

₠This inquiry was announced on 5 March 2007 in Press notice No 22 of session 2006-07

₠The Committee held an evidence session on: Wednesday 9 May when evidence was heard from Professor Colin Blakemore, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council, Professor Ian Diamond, Chief Executive, Economic and Social Research Council, Professor Keith Mason, Chief Executive, Science and Technology Facilities Council, and Dr Randal Richards, Acting Chief Executive, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; on Wednesday 6 June when evidence was heard from Professor Stuart Palmer, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Warwick, Professor Alan Jenkins, Director of the Water Science Programme, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Professor Lorna Casselton FRS, Foreign Secretary and Vice-President, and Dr Bernie Jones, Head of International Policy, The Royal Society, and Dr Lloyd Anderson, Director, Science, The British Council; and on Wednesday 20 June when evidence was heard from Professor Sir Keith O'Nions, Director General of Science and Innovation, Department of Trade and Industry.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)

Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)