Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 53 of Session 2006-07 25 July 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Eighth Report of Session 2006-07, Chairman of the Medical Research Council: Introductory Hearing [HC 746] at 00.01am on Tuesday 31 July 2007.

Embargoed electronic copies of the Report will be available upon request from 11.00am on Monday 30 July to members of the press and those who gave evidence to the inquiry.

Requests for embargoed copies of the Report should be emailed to by 12.00 noon Thursday 26 July.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee's website: from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

₠Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the ₓexpenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodiesâ‚?. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)

Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)