No. 2 of Session 2004-05  24 November 2004



Wednesday 1 December 2004

Committee Room 8

The Science and Technology Committee will hear evidence on the future of the National Institute for Medical Research  from:

At 10.00am

Medical Research Council

Sir Anthony Cleaver, Chairman
Professor Colin Blakemore, Chief Executive
Professor John Savill, Council Member

At 11.00am

National Institute for Medical Research

Sir John Skehel, Director
Dr Robin Lovell-Badge, Head of Division, Developmental Genetics and Task Force member
Dr Steve Gamblin, Task Force member

For further information on this inquiry contact the Clerk of the Committee, Chris Shaw, on 0207 219 2792. For general enquiries about the submission of evidence and the work of the Committee, contact Ana Ferreira on 0207 219 2793.

 Previous press notices and publications are available on the Committee’s internet homepage

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, or Portcullis House if appropriate, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the 'expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies'. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee’s Inquiry into The Future of the National Institute for Medical Research  was announced on 21 October 2004, press notice no. 73 of session 2003-04.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)