No. 1 of Session 2004-05 24 November 2004

EVIDENCE SESSION 1 December 2004


The Science and Technology Committee is holding its fourth "Question Time" with the Minister for Science and Innovation, Lord Sainsbury of Turville, from 9.15 to 9.45am in Committee Room 8.

Lord Sainsbury will answer the questions listed below. There will also be supplementary questions from Committee Members on each subject.

1.What discussions have you had with HEFCE regarding the proposed closure of Exeter University's chemistry department?

2. What provisions are being made in the forthcoming legislation announced in the Queen's Speech to deter economic sabotage by animal rights activists?

3. What principles are used to decide whether research institutes should be co-located with universities or hospitals?

4.What role has OST played in the planning of the strategies and priorities for the UK presidency of the G8?

5.How does the Government balance the interests of the UK publishing industry with those of the UK research base; and to what extent is the Government prepared to intervene if the balance of interests tips too far in favour of the publishing industry?

6.What progress has been made on the decision on where ITER should be situated?

For further information, please ring Ana Ferreira on 020 7219 2793

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, or Portcullis House if appropriate, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies@. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee holds Science Question Time around every three months. It is designed to enable the Committee to raise topical issues with the Minister and to discuss recent developments in science and innovation. Previous sessions were held on 2 February , 12 May and 14 July.

• The transcript of the evidence sessions will be published on the Committee's website within a week of the evidence sessions.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)